Desktops General - Read Only

Last reply by 10-08-2015 Solved
Start a Discussion
2 Bronze
2 Bronze
109671

Optiplex 760

hi

I have a Dell Optiplex 760 with a Intel core 2 due E7400 CPU @2.80Ghz  - 2.79 GHz, ....

Motherboard model - 0M858N 

Chipset - Intel - Q45/Q43 

Southbridge - Intel - 82801jd (ICH10D)

So, can i replace my CPU with Core 2 Quad, for example Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450



Thanks and best regards 

Solutions (4)

Accepted Solutions
10 Diamond
2641

jb.hasan

The 0M858N motherboard does not support Core2 Quad, only Core 2 Duo and Pentium Dual-Core processors.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

10 Diamond
2638

jb.hasan

It is not the chipset that's not compatible, it's the voltage regulator ICs the OM858N motherboard has.

As posted the OptiPlex 760 was sold with two different motherboards, depending on the configuration the buyer choose.

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_optiplex_desktop/optiplex-760_setup%20...

Bev.

Ps. Your 'Optiplex specification sheet' link seems not to work, it goes to an error message.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

10 Diamond
2638

jb.hasan

Good choice and you are welcome.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

10 Diamond
2638

jb.hasan

Yes.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

Replies (14)
10 Diamond
2642

jb.hasan

The 0M858N motherboard does not support Core2 Quad, only Core 2 Duo and Pentium Dual-Core processors.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

2 Bronze
2 Bronze
2641

OK... So how about  IntelCore 2 Duo E8600 3.33 GHz Dual-Core Processor?

10 Diamond
2641

jb.hasan

The Wolfdale Core 2 Duo E8600 3.33 GHz processor should work fine.

Prior to installing the processor, check that you have the latest BIOS version installed, with version A11 updated Intel Processor's microcode was added.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

2 Bronze
2 Bronze
2641

SHESAGORDIE

But as i see on the Intel website, my chips model is compatible with core 2 quad and core 2 duo, Pentium Dual-Core... 

and i think these processes are compatible with the chips model... but not sure about the motherboard if it's compatible or not:emotion-8::

Q9000 series Intel® Core™2 Quad 12M/6M, 1333 FSB
Q8000 series Intel® Core™2 Quad 4M, 1333 FSB
E8000 series Intel® Core™2 Duo 6M, 1333 FSB
E7000 series Intel® Core™2 Duo 3M, 1066 FSB
E6000 series Intel® Pentium® Dual Core 2M, 1066 FSB
E5000 series Intel® Pentium® Dual Core 2M, 800 FSB
E1000 series Intel® Celeron® Dual Core 512K, 800 FSB
400 series Intel® Celeron® 512K, 800 FSB

Optiplex specification sheet

and thanks...:emotion-1:

10 Diamond
2639

jb.hasan

It is not the chipset that's not compatible, it's the voltage regulator ICs the OM858N motherboard has.

As posted the OptiPlex 760 was sold with two different motherboards, depending on the configuration the buyer choose.

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_optiplex_desktop/optiplex-760_setup%20...

Bev.

Ps. Your 'Optiplex specification sheet' link seems not to work, it goes to an error message.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

2 Bronze
2 Bronze
2638

SHESAGORDIE

First of all, thanks for sharing your experiance with me:emotion-15:... and i made up my mind to buy from Ebay this process as u tell me previously... 

Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8600 (6M Cache, 3.33 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)

http://ark.intel.com/products/35605/Intel-Core2-Duo-Processor-E8600-6M-Cache-3_33-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB

Anyway... this is the Optiplex 760 specification sheet...:emotion-1:
http://www.dell.com/downloads/emea/products/optix/optiplex_760_spec_sheet_en.pdf


And thanks...

 

 

10 Diamond
2639

jb.hasan

Good choice and you are welcome.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

2 Bronze
2 Bronze
2638

SHESAGORDIE 

Hello again...

I have received the processor and i want to update my BIOS, there is newer version than A11 which is A16 ... 

So it's OK to install A16 instead of A11...:emotion-42:

http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/DriverDetails?driverId=7GK0W&fileId=2731118833

& thanks :)

10 Diamond
2639

jb.hasan

Yes.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

Latest Solutions
Top Contributor