Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 26th, 2009 11:00

SATA Drives Not Detected

Hi Everyone,

I really can't say I know a lot about computers, and everything I do know has been self-taught through experience and trial and error. Right now, I have a problem that I can't fix, hence why I am posting. Keep in mind that my computer is a Dell Dimension 8400.

My problem is that when I go to boot up the computer, I get the Dell screen (also the BIOS screen I think???), and my computer won't boot up. I get two options in the top-right corner of the screen that say: "F2- Setup" and "F12- Boot Menu". When I enter setup, I get a bunch of options, and I go to Drives, where I see a bunch of options for 6 different drives.

I have SATA-0 through SATA-3, and PATA-0 and PATA-1. I have the SATA Operation setting to "RAID Autodetect / AHCI". When I go to the Boot Menu, I have several different options. These are:

"Boot to Utility Partition", "System Setup", "Hardrive Diagnostic", "Onboard or USB Floppy Drive", "Onboard or USB CD-ROM Drive", and "USB Device". I have a USB plugged into a port on the computer because I installed Dell's attempted solution (Setup Utility Partition or something like that???) onto a flashdrive at my friend's house. I tried taking the steps to run that program according to Dell's Troubleshooting Guides, and nothing happens. I also have tried running the computer to diagnostics (once again, according to Dell's Guides), and it takes two seconds to come up with several conclusions.

It says that my Drives 0 through 4 are "No Device", Drive 5 is LITE-ON CD-ROM with a few numbers/letters and says in parenthesis "Diagnostics not Supported), and Drive 6 says "SONY CD-RW/DVD (Diagnostics not Supported)". It then tells me to press enter to restart the computer.

As you can see, I'm quite clueless... Thank you in advance for your help!!

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

July 26th, 2009 13:00