Desktops General - Read Only

Last reply by 08-18-2014 Solved
Start a Discussion
2 Bronze
2 Bronze

Sata ports

I have a dell dimension 5150 and my blue sata port is loose and sometimes it wont read the HDD i have a black port right next to it and im wondering can i just connect to the black sata port. i use a blue sata cable

Solutions (2)

Accepted Solutions
10 Diamond

comptech3097

The primary C/: hard drive needs to be connected to the motherboard SATA 0, usually this is the blue connector, for it to be recognized as the 'boot' drive, see page 9

 http://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_dimension_desktops/dimension-5150x_Se...

Do you mean that the SATA connector is loose on the motherboard, or the SATA data is loose when plugged into the motherboard connector?

Sometimes replacing the SATA data with one that has locking latch connector can correct this issue, similar to the following:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812816291

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100029246&IsNodeId=1&name=SATA%20%2f%20e...

Bev.

 

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

Community Accepted Solution
10 Diamond

so would this work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816322010&cm_re=PCIe_x1_SATA_controller_card_s... 

But, can i just change the bios to make it boot of black sata port? 

 
comptech3097
 
No, you need a card that has internal connectors.
 
You could try it, but first disable SATA0 connector in the system set up [BIOS]  and enable SATA2, the worse that can happen is the system will not boot and probably an error message.
 
Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

View solution in original post

Community Accepted Solution
Replies (9)
10 Diamond

comptech3097

The primary C/: hard drive needs to be connected to the motherboard SATA 0, usually this is the blue connector, for it to be recognized as the 'boot' drive, see page 9

 http://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_dimension_desktops/dimension-5150x_Se...

Do you mean that the SATA connector is loose on the motherboard, or the SATA data is loose when plugged into the motherboard connector?

Sometimes replacing the SATA data with one that has locking latch connector can correct this issue, similar to the following:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812816291

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100029246&IsNodeId=1&name=SATA%20%2f%20e...

Bev.

 

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

Community Accepted Solution
2 Bronze
2 Bronze

The blue slot on the motherboard is a little loose. all other components work on PC. is there a way i can go on the bios and run from the black sata port?

2 Bronze
2 Bronze

if the blue sata port was loose would it need to be solder or is it a much bigger problem?

10 Diamond

comptech3097

No, you would need to install a PCI, or PCIe x1 SATA controller card, or replace the motherboard.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

10 Diamond

if the blue sata port was loose would it need to be solder or is it a much bigger problem?

 
comptech3097
 
Soldering on a motherboard require precision and advanced soldering techniques.
 
Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

2 Bronze
2 Bronze

so would this work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816322010&cm_re=PCIe_x1_SATA_controller_card_s... 

But, can i just change the bios to make it boot of black sata port? 

3 Silver

On some motherboards there are three sets of Sata ports. Two intel six gig ports and four intel 3G ports and two acmedia or other 3 party Sata chipset. On a AMD motherboard there may be only two sets the AMD 6g and 3G. On some cheap motherboards there maybe only one six gigabyte port or just four 3G ports.
SSD and HDD should start on port 0 of the 6g controller. Cd-roms on any of the 3G ports. Some motherboards, its easer if you have the boot drive on port 0.

10 Diamond

so would this work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816322010&cm_re=PCIe_x1_SATA_controller_card_s... 

But, can i just change the bios to make it boot of black sata port? 

 
comptech3097
 
No, you need a card that has internal connectors.
 
You could try it, but first disable SATA0 connector in the system set up [BIOS]  and enable SATA2, the worse that can happen is the system will not boot and probably an error message.
 
Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

Community Accepted Solution
10 Diamond

On some motherboards there are three sets of Sata ports. Two intel six gig ports and four intel 3G ports and two acmedia or other 3 party Sata chipset. On a AMD motherboard there may be only two sets the AMD 6g and 3G. On some cheap motherboards there maybe only one six gigabyte port or just four 3G ports.
SSD and HDD should start on port 0 of the 6g controller. Cd-roms on any of the 3G ports. Some motherboards, its easer if you have the boot drive on port 0.

 
Tyrandis
 
The Dimension 5150 motherboard, only has two SATA connectors, SATA0 and SATA2, plus an IDE connector for the optical drives.
 
Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

Top Contributor
Latest Solutions