NellieSG
1 Nickel

Should I buy a new Desktop? And if so, can I sync everything through plugs? :)

I bought a top of the line desktop with extra add-ons from Dell more than 10 years ago. You can see the specs from my profile that I'll update soon if you're interested. I've to say it's still working well. I may have problems with the storage space being less than 15% free, though - that means I cannot install new games. 

My system specs are: Dell Dim 9100 Intel (R)

Pentium R (D) CPU 3.00 GHz

2.99 GHz, 2.00GB of Ram

Physical Address Extension

145 GB Hard Drive 

14 GB Free Space

I am a musician, so please be patient with me. I did do my best in treating this computer well to the best of my knowledge.

I gave it lots of TLC. The 10 year old keyboard still works, I vacuum it once in 6 months. I changed the Creative Audigy 2s soundcard

when it spoilt, I added Ram. 

I don't really want to change it. Actually I do not want to change it because I've other priorities for my money, such as taking care of my parents. 

And yet I am worried, what if my desktop spoils one day,... Is it possible for a Dell Technician or anyone else to transfer everything to a desktop/laptop 

including my Window User profiles and have all the files where it currently is. I have been using Windows XP, to the latest Windows? 

Should I buy a dell desktop/laptop? I feel kindly towards Dell because my Dell desktop has lasted so long. I have been using it daily for 10 years and

I do not always switch it off.

So, which Dell desktop/laptop should I buy?

Should I buy a steady state drive as advertised by Dell? But I do want to play LAN gaming on it. But really, I cannot afford to buy a top of the

line laptop or desktop currently. My priorities have changed, that even as a wannabe gamer, I cannot really fulfill my desires to get the fastest

best laptop/desktop to get an edge over others. But I'm scared that one day, I will not be able to turn on my CPU.