Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 9th, 2013 14:00

Strange behavior of power with Optiplex GX620

Hi there, I am a technician in Spain and I collaborate with a Non profit... they purchase second hand computers to setup a classroom for small kids

The case is that I configured around 10 units of Optiplex GX620 the SFF a couple of years ago and they worked fine for one year but recently I have discovered that 3 of them have a very strange behavior when powering on.

The PC´s are connected to a power strip that comes with a switch to power on and off, if we turn off the computer as always (Start Shutdown....) everything goes fine, but if we turn off the power strip after properly turning off the pc, the next morning the PC does not start, and you have to unplug the external Power Supply and press the power button for 10 or 15 seconds, plug the power back in and now it works.

The PC´s have BIOS A11 (latest available)

• I have tested replacing the power supply (External)
  • Replacing CMOS Battery
  • Replacing RAM
  • Replacing HD
  • Reinstall entire system

None of the test worked, I found some one talking about a USB damaged, but this is not the case, USB are fine.

I know it sounds stupid but to solve the issue I replaced the power strip with one that has no switch but I still want to find out what is the problem, we are considering sending 12 or more of this PC´s to a school in Etiopia and I am worried that this problem gets worst in Africa due to their problem with electricity.

Thank you all

Vicente

6 Professor

• 

8.8K Posts

May 9th, 2013 15:00

I had a similar issue with a much newer design after I upgraded the BIOS: it would not reboot. I had to disconnect it from the power source and cold-boot it.

Reverting to an earlier BIOS fixed the problem.

What happens if you leave the power strip on and turn off each machine manually by pressing its button?

87 Posts

May 9th, 2013 22:00