Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 7th, 2010 19:00

Studio XPS 8100 19-in-1 Card Reader - Not Working

From Googling and I guess 'Delling', I've come to realize this post may be all in vain, as it seems to be an on-going problem with Dell. But I thought I would give it a go, any-way. Surely by now (And on one of their best XPS bases) they have found a fix for this problem.

As what seems to be the go with all of the card reader problems people have encountered - Mine simply doesn't work. The PC arrived yesterday. I set it up, installed everything and it is working 110% perfectly. The CD Drives, USB's, everything work. But from the start, the 19-in-1 Media Card Reader (Internal one) -- Doesn't work.

It doesn't read any CF, SD, SDHC I put in. There isn't any icons or drive letters in 'Computer', nothing. The cards I am trying are either 4GB or 8GB cards - Sandisk, too; one of the best. I'm a Photographer, so I have about 20 of them - So no, it isn't just the individual card that is corrupted or "damaged" or whatever. I'm quite positive it is Internal Reader.

Anyway.. Any fixes for this problem yet? Any troubleshooting I can go through? Or have most just learnt to "DELL with it"? Excuse the pun. Is there any-way I can take out the internal card reader that is in there and simply buy another, install it and have it work that way? I'm game for anything.

For what it is worth - The computer itself is amazing!

Thanks for any help.

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

February 11th, 2011 06:00

Hi 423piggyboy,

I haven't had any problems but have you tried reinstalling the drivers? If you're not familiar with the Dell Support site, just click Support (above), then Downloads, then you identify your system and OS and the drivers for your system will be listed. I suggest you NOT use the Dell download thing.

1 Message

February 11th, 2011 06:00