Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 26th, 2013 10:00

T7500 and Dell SAS RAID Storage Manager

I have a Dell T7500 which I originally ordered with Linux and one SATA drive.  I recently added a second SATA drive and setup a RAID 1 array and installed Windows 7 Pro.  I also installed the SAS driver and the latest version of Dell SAS RAID Storage Manager.   The T7500 I have uses the integrated SAS6/iR RAID controller.

I have had extensive experience configuring computers which used the Intel RAID chipset which is managed by the Intel Matrix Storage Manager (now known as Intel Rapid Storage Technology).  This is a great app which loads on bootup and monitors the status of the RAID array. It also has several tools allowing you to rebuild an array from this app.  

I was expecting similar features from the Dell SAS RAID Storage Manager, but have found it almost useless.  Basically, it does not run when I boot the computer.  I have to manually start it and then log in with a user name and password.  It then only displays info, but does not give me any options other than to delete the array. 

As an example, as a test, I removed one of my RAID 1 drives and booted into Windows 7.   I never received a pop-up indicating that my array was degraded.  When I logged into the app, it showed that the array was degraded as a listing in small print, but provided no other useful options.   I then added a new drive and after rebooting, started the app again.  It showed the new disk with a rebuild label, but no options to start the rebuild or its progress.

I wanted to check here to see if I am using the correct tool or if I need to do something to enable more features. This really needs to load on bootup and give an indication of an array problem.

Thanks.

Jim

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

May 27th, 2013 06:00

Hi Jim,