Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 9th, 2016 07:00

Upgrading Inspiron 580s

Hello!

I'm in the process of upgrading my Dell Inspiron 580s (i5 with *slim case*) for gaming purposes.  I recently installed an MSI GeForce GTX 750 ti low profile graphics card and am now looking to upgrade the power supply.  The PSU in my computer is currently at 250 watts while the minimum for the card is 400 watts.  I've heard that I should probably get a 500 watt PSU but have yet to find one.  The closest I can find is the TFX power supply at 400 watts.

Since I'm new to computer hardware and working with it, I just want to double check to make sure there's nothing I'm missing.  Would a 400 watt power supply be sufficient?  Or is there a 500 watt available that will fit the slim case?  Also, aside from the PSU, is there anything else I'd need to replace for the graphics card to properly work?  I'd like my computer to not melt, ha ha.

Thanks in advance!

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

June 9th, 2016 13:00

Hello!

I'm in the process of upgrading my Dell Inspiron 580s (i5 with *slim case*) for gaming purposes.  I recently installed an MSI GeForce GTX 750 ti low profile graphics card and am now looking to upgrade the power supply.  The PSU in my computer is currently at 250 watts while the minimum for the card is 400 watts.  I've heard that I should probably get a 500 watt PSU but have yet to find one.  The closest I can find is the TFX power supply at 400 watts.

Since I'm new to computer hardware and working with it, I just want to double check to make sure there's nothing I'm missing.  Would a 400 watt power supply be sufficient?  Or is there a 500 watt available that will fit the slim case?  Also, aside from the PSU, is there anything else I'd need to replace for the graphics card to properly work?  I'd like my computer to not melt, ha ha.

Thanks in advance!

Corenna

http://pointtek.ecrater.com/p/14556392/500w-tfx-power-supply-tfx500w