I just upgraded from Windows Vista home edition to windows 7 Ultimate. When I purchased my Inspiron 530, it had Vista recovery files on the D: drive which I believe could be used to restore Vista to a working state should something nasty happen. Would those files have been deleted during the upgrade to Win7 or will they still be there taking up space? Can I delete them?
Solved! Go to Solution.
Those files are useless after the upgrade. They are not on a separate drive, just on a small partition (15gb or so) on the C drive. Yes you can delete them. To see a visual of the main C drive (drive 0), open Disk Management and you will see all the partitions on the drive.