Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 14th, 2016 14:00

Wanting to upgrade an XPS 8700 Graphics Card

Hello, I'm totally new to pretty much all of this, but I bought a Dell XPS 8700 Desktop with a AMD Radeon 7570 about 4 or 5 years ago and at the time didn't know anything about computers at all.

Since then however I've learned quite a bit about Hardware but I'm definitely a novice still, I've only ever upgraded a couple Laptop Hard Drives, nothing major like this.

I was wondering if anybody could give me some tips or Suggestions on what Graphics card I can or should use I could really use the help.

If it helps here's my Specs PDF

downloads.dell.com/.../xps-8700_reference guide_en-us.pdf

1.2K Posts

December 15th, 2016 11:00

Wanting to play No Man's Sky and my default card can't even dream of touching it.

Budget: $300-400

Monitor Resolution: 1080p (I'm hoping to be able to game in this resolution)

GTX 480 is the required card for that game. It is really old, but was really good at the time.

A GTX 1060 is the current model card that works great in an 8700 without a power supply update.

GTX 1060s are faster than GTX 970s which were about equal to GTX 780 which was better than the GTX 680 and so on so it should do really well with that game at that resolution.

I don't know much about newer AMD cards so I won't offer an opinion.

My personal preference is the MSI Gaming models. copy paste this into your search and you'll find it.

MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1060 GAMING X 6G

If you can wait a few weeks, the christmas price crunch should allow the prices to soften a little. Most all the cards are listed at or near or above list price right now without any rebates.

I'm 99% sure this card will work and will be great in an 8700.

We have an MSI GTX 970 in one of our 8700s and it games really well and the 1060 is a tad faster than the 970 is.

good luck.

1.2K Posts

December 15th, 2016 00:00