Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 23rd, 2010 05:00

XPS 8100 2.8GHz and SB X-Fi Xtreme PCI Express Issues. (Crackling, stuttering and popping)

I am aiming this as help to those who are as I have just done searched for a solution also an open letter to Dell and Creative for the lost time they have caused me by not giving good information. Oh! and yes, a blanking plate for my machine please!

I took delivery of my machine in March 2010. I dad a few issues with software configuration that I have solved with further investigation and fixing myself. As Dell technical support have never responded to any issue that I have had. I have been a hardware device driver Engineer for over eighteen years so for me technical support is a route to a knowledge base and a quick fix when they have one.

The problem with the Creative Technology SB X-Fi Xtreme HD Audio Controller PCI Express version became serious in December 2009.  I have read fifty to sixty online attempts to fix the problem by downloading new drivers, optimising Windows settings to changing the PCI bus latency intervals. I have tried most of them and in a minority of cases this has worked. So beware of false Gods online. As I have used regression testing on many of the fixes ( testing many fixes in combination and alone). It has now become clear to me as Creative still haven't fixed the problem that I inherited in March 2010 they are struggling big time with some type of hardware issues. Note the word issues because there are a few that I can see.