Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 20th, 2011 15:00

Computer Will not start

Hello All,

My computer which is a Dell Dimension 4600, does'nt start up properly. When I turn it on it displays the Windows XP screen then goes blank and then the Windows XP sceen appears for about 20 seconds, Then the computer make a shut down noise, but stays on and a blue screen appears with a message. It says registry cannot load the hive (file)systemRoot\System32\configure\SOFTWARE log or alternate is corrupt, absent, or not writable. I'm a computer beginner and dont understand all this language. Please can someone tell me whats wrong and how I can fix this as I have a lot of work on this computer.

Thanks.

2.9K Posts

December 21st, 2011 12:00

nbh001,

Do not become desparate and reformat your hard drive or run a repair of Windows XP.   Click on Start|Run.  Type notepad and press Enter.  Copy and paste the following text into Notepad:

copy c:\windows\system32\config\system c:\windows\tmp\system.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\software c:\windows\tmp\software.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\sam c:\windows\tmp\sam.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\security c:\windows\tmp\security.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\default c:\windows\tmp\default.bak

delete c:\windows\system32\config\system
delete c:\windows\system32\config\software
delete c:\windows\system32\config\sam
delete c:\windows\system32\config\security
delete c:\windows\system32\config\default

copy c:\windows\repair\system c:\windows\system32\config\system
copy c:\windows\repair\software c:\windows\system32\config\software
copy c:\windows\repair\sam c:\windows\system32\config\sam
copy c:\windows\repair\security c:\windows\system32\config\security

Save this as regcopy1.txt

In Notepad, click File|New.   Copy and paste the following text into Notepad:

del c:\windows\system32\config\sam
del c:\windows\system32\config\security
del c:\windows\system32\config\software