Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

R

September 12th, 2008 05:00

Dell Return Policy

Hi all,

This is my first time to post a message here, but I have been reading quite a lot lately.

Please, I need some advice.

Last Sunday (09/08/08), I purchased a Dell XPS 420 system (3G memory, 320G hard drive, single drive) for a total of $1,129(SH free) excludingtaxes.Now Dell has posted on their website some XPS deals, including the 420.  Starting memory is at 4G with 640G of hard drive and dual drive, total excluding tax tax came out to be $1,179, not much difference from what I have paid for.

Now, here's the issue...I have not received my order yet, although it has been shipped.  I am thinking of returning it once I received it and then ordering the new XPS 420 deal.  I have read somewhere here about the 15% restocking fee plus I would also have to pay for shipping it back. 

I am not sure then, if it's all worth it.  Go figure:  $1,129 (not including taxes) x 15% = $169 + $40 SH roughly = $209 + cost of new system $1,388.

I tried to do another configuration with the non-discounted XPS 420 and I got $1479.  So between $1,479 and $1,388, I would still save $91.

PLEASE HELP me decide...I am not a gamer, but I use Microsoft Office and the internet and other productivity software a lot.  I also think that I could use the high memory and high hard drive capacity now so in the future, I won't have to buy a new computer to upgrade.

Thanks so much in advance.  The deal expires on the 13th at 11:59pm CST.

REmms

133 Posts

September 12th, 2008 07:00

i don't think they would accept your machine cos better deal is coming.

935 Posts

September 12th, 2008 12:00