Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 5th, 2013 08:00

Dell XPS 8100 - AHCI Port 0 Device Error

I purchased a Dell XPS 8100 - Manufactured on 2010-Aug-03.

Gave the subject message. Tried to follow the advise provided related to similar topics. Did not work or I am not technically savvy.

I had used several different PC Brands and never had a crash. Did not expect a Dell product to fail such as this. It is my mistake that I had not backed up any data. Do not have a extended Dell warranty/service plan and could not find a Dell Contact in Canada to get advise or send an E-mail.

Before I take it to a PC repair shop appreciate any advise.

What I want to know is: 

1. If this is a full system crash or is it only limited to the HD?
  2. Can I at least recover the data
  3. Then re-format or put in a new HD and install new Windows.
  4. Can I recover the data on my own or need to get professional help

Thanks in advance for your kind advise.

1.5K Posts

June 5th, 2013 08:00

Hi Chris,

Please run diagnostics on the system to confirm hardware functionality. Here are the steps:

• Restart the system and immediately start tapping the 'F12' key to enter the 'Boot Menu'.
  • Use the 'Down Arrow' key to highlight the 'Diagnostics' option. Press the 'Enter' key.
  • The diagnostics will begin. Please note the exact error message/code, if any appears on the screen.

If there is no hardware failure detected, then possibly the Windows has crashed and needs to be reinstalled.

You can recover data from the hard drive, for this you can purchase a hard drive enclosure and connect the Dell XPS 8100 to it. Then connect the enclosure to another system and backup the data. You may refer to Service Manual of this system for removing and reseating the components. Please follow the safety instructions before replacing the components.