Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 14th, 2002 00:00

Power Light Blinking Orange

Does anyone know what to do? I left the computer for about 10 minutes and when I come back, the computer is off, I can't turn it on and all it does is blink orange. I read here that it has something to do with the power supply, but I have no technical experience and don't want to damage anything inside the chassis. Thanks.

Jose Perez

472 Posts

April 14th, 2002 02:00

You have enabled Standby on your computer. Although it is supposed to work with a desktop, in reality it is for laptops only.

1st, press and hold the power button (for about 5 seconds) This will completely power off your computer.

Then, after rebooting, go into Control Panel and modify your power settings to disable standby.

Charles,
Tag # 6VMY111

Dimension 8200, Bios A03
1.8 ghz P4
256 mb Ram
80 gb HD
NVidia GEForce3 TI200
Dell M991 monitor
Samsung 308b DVD/CDRW combo
Telephony modem
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Sound (4161 beta driver)
Altec Lansing ADA995 (1BT)
Windows XP Home
(Multibooted with Win98, Win2000, OS/2, Linux)
Roxio Easy CDCreator 5.1.0.104 (platinum)
Office XP Pro (retail)
Power DVD 4 (retail upgrade)
Norton SystemWorks 2002 (retail)

2 Posts

April 14th, 2002 03:00

It's not on stand by, I set it to never go on standby. I can unplug the power, put it back in, press the power button and it will just blink orange, that's why it's more complicated than the standby.

Jose Perez

579 Posts

April 14th, 2002 14:00

Nice answer!
Read the manual!

12 Posts

April 14th, 2002 15:00

Why don't you step away from your normal personality and stop being a jerk.

3 Posts

April 29th, 2003 21:00