• Data Domain
  • CCNP Data Center
  • VCP5-DT/Cloud/DV

Education: Bachelor’s in Networking

Area of Expertise: Storage and Virtualization

Employer: Dimension Data

Function/Role: Solution Architect in the Data Center Business Unit/ Pre-Sales

Social Profiles:

Can you briefly describe your background, for example, how did you first become interested in IT? What training did you undertake to start your career?

Honestly, I did not do any training material to start my career. My first school was by surviving the fire. I started off as a UNIX admin, then moved the Microsoft side of things. I then started getting into virtualization as a way to save the company money and drive my skills. From there it kind of just snowballed. I fell into a Storage admin position. All through this time I never had a formal training class. I learned by trial and error. It was hell.

Describe your current position/role. What most interests you about your work?

I am a Pre-Sales DC Solution Architect. I help customers find a solution that works for their businesses needs now, and for the future. I like being able to shape a proper IT Vision for a company, and become their trusted advisor.

What projects/technology are you planning on for the future? Are you planning on more training, or learning a new skill?

If you’re not planning more training, you’re going to be left behind. I want to learn more about DSSD when it comes out. I also like to get more involved in the Software defined datacenter conversation with EMC and other partner companies.

Name a major achievement in your career or any awards that you have won. What accomplishments are you most proud of?

I have won many company performance awards. But the accomplishment I am most proud of is being a father to two fantastic daughters.

Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself? Name some hobbies or interests you have.

I like to golf, ski, and smoke cigars with some nice whiskey.