Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 1st, 2012 05:00

Hard disk compatibility (ST32000444SS)

Hi,

first - I am a completely newbie regarding EMC products so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

Second - I recently acquired a couple of 2TB 7200 RPM SAS drives (ST32000444SS) on a well known marketplace...

The seller unfortunately failed to mention that those drives were from an EMC storage array and included an EMC drive Caddy and probably EMC Bios.

So now I think I have several options:

1. Return the drives - possibly the easiest solution, I've contacted the seller regarding this

2. Sell the drives on - possible too - I've paid around $180 per disc - is that a reasonable price or cheap or a ripoff?

3. Try to remove the caddy and force flash a regular Seagate bios on them to get them recognized by a regular SAS controller - Is that even possible?

4. Try to get hold of an EMC storage unit to use them as they are...

a. Which storage Units support these drives - and which one is the oldest and thus possibly cheapest?

b. Which components do I need to get this running? I suppose the regular list would include Storage Processor, Drive Array, SAN switch and FC HBA? I           believe one can leave the SAN switch out - but do I need a storage processor or can I directly attach a drive array to a FC HBA in a server?

Any comments/help or link to documentation regarding this would be greatly appreciated:)

Regards,

Thomas

33 Posts

May 1st, 2012 13:00

Well that was one of my initial questions;)

Which is the oldest array which will accept those drives ?

Which limitations do these have? size? disk type?

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

May 1st, 2012 13:00

do you know EMC part number for that drive ?

33 Posts

May 2nd, 2012 10:00

Anyone knows where to search via this partnumber?

Standard search yields not many results....

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

May 2nd, 2012 11:00