Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

T

October 12th, 2017 06:00

Dell Pro Support & Firmware Updates

Hi,

I logged a case with Dell Pro support regarding a time of day battery error on our PS4100.

I sent the diag logs and they said try a firmware update before they look at a hardware fix.

The impression is that I have to do the firmware update, something I have never done before and cautious about doing without Dell being on hand.

Now I rely on Pro support for knowledge and expertise and also said make sure I check compatibility of the FW update before proceeding.

I'm a bit annoyed, we pay for the support and knowledge and its up to me to decide whether a piece of software they produce is fit for our system?

Am I unreasonable to ask for Dell to at least be on hand and shadow, I mean what are they going to do if it all goes wrong?

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

October 12th, 2017 07:00

Hello, 

I'm sorry that your experience wasn't up to Dell/EMC standard.  

Dell support will absolutely help you with the upgrade.  There is an upgrade tool you can download from the EQL support site.   This will help you do both the controller firmware upgrades, but also check for any hard drive firmware. 

(Stole this from another Thread -- Thanks Jeorg) 

Login to https://eqlsupport.dell.com/ and in the left menu "Dell Storage Update Manager" -> eqlsupport.dell.com/.../download.aspx

The document for the upgrade path is eqlsupport.dell.com/.../download.aspx

The process itself is very straightforward.   What firmware version are you running right now? 

The TOD fix was fixed awhile ago so I suspect you are behind a few revisions.  Which means you'll need to do several updates to get current.   The firmware upgrade doc also has a table which will show you the steps.  The Dell Storage Update Manager tool also has this information integrated.