Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 24th, 2012 11:00

Design Question: Max In-Use Best Practices

I am new to EqualLogic, but have a very good background in storage (multi-protocol SAN/NAS, particularly NetApp & EMC).

That said, I see the settings for "Maximun In-Use Space" on a volume that is thin provisioned.  I am looking at a system that was already configured, and this is what they did:

• Created a bunch of volumes and made them much larger than they needed to be (overcommitted the aggregate or pool)
  • Set the Maximum In-Use space to about 50% of the volume size (because in reality that is all the pool has)
  • Mounted these volumes to ESXi as datastores

Now what happens is this (and if you ask me this is insane, if not stupid): VMWare administrator uses vSphere Client to review datastores and sees that "Datastore X" has 495GB of free space.  It is a 1TB datastore, and so naturally when they are asked to deploy new virtual machines they place the VMs in this datastore.  The reality is, there is only 5GB free (due to Max In-Use set at 50%).  The VMWare administrator creates VMs and the datastore is kicked offline by Dell.  Everyone panics, calls the storage administrator, who then raises the Max In-Use Space setting for the volume because the pool has plenty of free space (other volumes are using less than 50%).

To me, the obvious thing to do here is to set "Max In-Use" to 100% of the volume.  The problem is when a previous storage administrator decided to over-commit the pool.  So now I get warnings about Max In-Use exceeds pool capacity (no duh).