Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 1st, 2016 12:00

Equal Logic PS100 Hyper V 2008 R2 Hyper V 2012

Hello,

I am a IT administrator for a Non Profit organization that was donated a Equal Logic PS100 array that is still is good shape.  I know that it is old but I believe that is still have some usefulness to me.  In my organization I am running Hyper V 2008 R2 host Dell R720\ Hyper V 2012 Dell R410.  Its Guests are a SQL, Vworkspace, RDP, Appassure\Rapid Recovery, File Server, Domain controller all storage of the VM's are local to the hosts.

Between these two hosts I would like to get some advice  for proper configuration of the Equal Logic so I can began to move some of the VM's to it.

I have reset  the Equallogic  and was going to began creating Volumes\LUN when I realized that I need some advice on creating the volumes.  

I have a Procurve gigabit switch with a SAN and Admin Vlan created on it.

I have a copy and license for  SCVVM 2012 R2 since I was not sure if I need to CSV( I have not experience with this) but not installed anywhere yet..

Rapid Recovery backs up and replicates offsite nightly so I need advice on if I need to use snapshots on the Equal Logic.

I hope I can start a discussion on configuration of the Equal Logic and best practice for me to config it and move my VM's onto it.\

Thanks

Jared

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 4th, 2016 09:00

Also to operate PS Series arrays with W2K8/12 and SCVMM you need the host integration toolkit / Microsoft Edition.  (HIT/ME) also provides enhanced MPIO.   Unfortunately it too requires an array under warranty or service contract.  

Don

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 4th, 2016 09:00

Hello Jared,