One of our SAN's in SAN HQ recently had it's management interface IP changed. So now SAN-HQ says it's offline and can't see it. And I can't seem to find an option anywhere to put in the new address. I tried to stop monitoring and remove the old on and add the new, but it errors out saying it can't talk to the device to stop the monitoring. Is there some menu I just haven't found yet where I can just change the old IP for this group?
What version of SANHQ are you using? Sounds like it might be an older version.
Make sure that the SANHQ server can ping / log into the new IP address for the group.
Social Media and Community Professional
Get Support on Twitter - @dellcarespro
We have pretty much the same problem. We removed the GL san that was also the IP of the group manager - Once it was done vacating, the SAN HQ lost connectivity to the group completely.
We were told by Dell Tech Support that SAN HQ would choose another master and automatically reconfigure the group IP to use the new master. It did not.
So how do I change the group IP in the SAN HQ? I can ping it from the server where SAN HQ is installed, and the group manager EXE works fine when you feed it the correct IP. The issue is that in SAN HQ it still thinks the group is the old IP.
If you change the IP address of the group SANHQ will not automatically pick up the change. It has no way of knowing that it's changed.
The Dell tech was referring to if you just remove the Group Lead member from the group, another member would pick up that Group IP alias and everything would continue as normal.
If you change the Group IP or Management IP address you cannot just update the IP address in SANHQ. You will have to stop monitoring the old group. Then Re-add in the group with the new Group Management IP address.
You can keep the old one in SANHQ if you wish to view the historical data.
I wanted to clarity something on re-adding in the new IP. If you right mouse over the Old Group, there's an option to enter the Group IP. This will allow you to update the Group IP but it doesn't keep the old data.