Highlighted

Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

I'm trying to do a Dell Factory Restore on my Dell Inspiron 1440 Vista laptop. I did a manual reinstallation some days ago, but only halfway through as I got confused with the drivers to install and messed up on the installation sequence, and thus started having driver problems again. Now, I don't see "Repair your computer" on the Vista Advanced Bootup options menu, even though the partition is still there intact and undamaged.

Any way to work this out ? I think I saw an article where doing a lot of steps through command prompt made the Factory Restore work, even when it does not show up.

Help, please?

0 Kudos
17 Replies

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Any one? Is there absolutely no way to do a Factory Restore if it doesn't show up in Advanced Boot Options?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Kirei Blossom,

 

Did you tap F8 repeatedly, tap, tap, tap, tap

 

Restoring Your Computer´s Software to the Factory Settings

 

If that does not work, then...

 

How To Restore or Reinstall Microsoft® Windows® on a Dell™ Computer

 

Make sure to install the desktop/notebook system utility and the chipset drivers first, or the rest of the drivers will fail to install. How to Download and Install Drivers in the Correct Order

 

 

Rick

#DellRockstar

What is a Dell Service Tag and how do I locate it? 

Original poster, If you have solved your problem, can you please mark the correct thread(s) with your solution. Thanks 

Welcome to Dell Community!

#DellWorld 2012

#DellWorld 2015

#DellEMCWorld 2016

#MicrosoftMVP - Windows Expert-Consumer April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2015

0 Kudos

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Yes, I did tap F8, and got to the Advanced Boot Menu screen. No "repair your computer" remained as an option. Maybe because I did a manual reinstallation couple weeks ago (but messed on the driver install, so am looking for an easy way out, hence the need to figure out how to do a Factory Restore)

If there *is* no way to do Factory Restore, I'll try manual reinstallation again (no other option). If so, I have the Dell Drivers and utilities CD, and three of the drivers have tickmarks on them and notes on them saying that the matching hardware was detected for these drivers. But for audio, chipset, touchpad, etc, no tickmark was there - does that mean that particular driver does not match my system?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Kirei Blossom,

 

There is no Notebook system utility. Start with the chipset drivers first. If they're not installed first, the rest of the drivers will fail to install.

 

The rest of the order isn't as critical. After installing the wireless adapter, make sure to install Dell Quickset.

 

If you're not sure which wireless adapter you have, try running Finding System Information REMOVE YOUR PRODUCT ID and post the rest of the information back here.

 

 

Rick

#DellRockstar

What is a Dell Service Tag and how do I locate it? 

Original poster, If you have solved your problem, can you please mark the correct thread(s) with your solution. Thanks 

Welcome to Dell Community!

#DellWorld 2012

#DellWorld 2015

#DellEMCWorld 2016

#MicrosoftMVP - Windows Expert-Consumer April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2015

0 Kudos

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

By wireless adapter, do you mean my "Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card"? This was one of the drivers on the CD which showed a tickmark on it, so it matches.

But those which don't show a tickmark on the CD, do they match? Is it okay to install them?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Kirei Blossom,

 

Yes, that is correct.

 

After the drivers are installed for the 1397...

 

start, control panel, device manager, network, 1397 wireless adapter, double click on it, then click on advanced. Look for antenna diversity. Change it from Auto to Aux.

 

 

Rick

#DellRockstar

What is a Dell Service Tag and how do I locate it? 

Original poster, If you have solved your problem, can you please mark the correct thread(s) with your solution. Thanks 

Welcome to Dell Community!

#DellWorld 2012

#DellWorld 2015

#DellEMCWorld 2016

#MicrosoftMVP - Windows Expert-Consumer April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2015

0 Kudos

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

What does changing auto to aux do?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

Kirei Blossom,

 

Helps with connecting to a network.

 

 

Rick

#DellRockstar

What is a Dell Service Tag and how do I locate it? 

Original poster, If you have solved your problem, can you please mark the correct thread(s) with your solution. Thanks 

Welcome to Dell Community!

#DellWorld 2012

#DellWorld 2015

#DellEMCWorld 2016

#MicrosoftMVP - Windows Expert-Consumer April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2015

0 Kudos

Re: Any way to do Dell Factory Restore when the menu option doesn't show up?

I started doing a manual OS reinstallation. However, before I began, on the screen where it says to click on "Install Windows", there was also another link at the bottom which said "Repair your computer."

Curious, I clicked on that, and it gave me the following details that there was a problem with my windows startup options and did I want to repair them? This is what it also said:

-------

Repair Your Computer.

The following startup option will be repaired:

Name: Windows Boot Manager

Identifier: { }

The following startup option will be added:

Name: Windows (TM) Code Name "longhorn" preinstallation environment (recovered)

Path: Windows

Windows Device: Partition = D: (15000 MB)

A copy of the current boot configuration data will be saved as:

C:\Boot\BCD.Backup.0001

----------------

What does this option do? Is it related in any way to the Factory Restore?

0 Kudos