Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

9 Posts

December 14th, 2008 17:00

How to clone hd to new drive including 'hidden' restore/utility partition setup...? (it is MY laptop)

Hi,

I realise the hidden partition has been discussed on here already and I am aware of the goodells website which has a technical overview of the hidden partition, but I'm not THAT technical.

However, the only reason I purchased my xps m1710 is that I thought it was the top of the range model at the time, now all I want to do is replace the hd but at the same time retain all the functionality of the hidden restore partition and the media centre partition. You would expect Dell would make this easy for me as the owner and as Dell market themselves as providing user friendly IT solutions.

I have tried using trueimage to clone the drive but when trying the new drive on boot up it gets to the Dell 'blue bar' then freezes. I have tried copying partition by partition but this is even less successful.

I have tried restoring the restore 'ghost' image to the new hard drive but symantec ghost reports incompatibilities with the image file.

So as you can imagine I am not having fun and cursing never to buy a Dell ever again (and telling all the people I know not to either).

Can anyone help me? I am upgrading my original Samsung hd (SATA) to a new hd and would like to keep the hidden partition and mediacentre partition as my original hd. I have a new SATA hd which is currently connected in a USB enclosure. I am not a hd or filesystem expert and don't want to spend a year studying the goodells website.

What is the easy way of doing this or a dummies guide???

You would have thought Dell would provide an application to owners to enable a seamless hd upgrade while retaining the existing setup.

Thanks,

Mark.

1 Rookie

• 

2.1K Posts

December 14th, 2008 17:00

you might have to use a backup software...Acronis is very good..