Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 19th, 2009 18:00

Inspiron 1525- 1526, Touchpad, Mouse or Keyboard Issues Fixed

hi all. i'm new to dell forum. i'm here to show you how to fix inspiron 1525 -1526 touchpad and keyboard issues. some of you experience the touchpad acting up crazy, cursor jumping from one side of screen to the other, etc. some of you experience  the keyboard working sometimes, and others  experience that keyboard types by it self, etc. now put everything back together. or test your touchpad before you put everything back. if you need to apply more tape  behind the touchpad cable. please do! you should now enjoy using your laptop with no problems. note: your keyboard should now work fine. touchpad problem made the keyboard  useless. since now touchpad is fixed, your keyboard should work fine. if it doesn't, please apply the same technique attaching tape to the end of the keyboard cable.

20 Posts

June 19th, 2009 22:00

i hope everyone is happy, and enjoying  their laptops. well apparently  the cable connection from the touchpad becomes loose over time. that's why many dell customers have their laptops repair by the dell factory, only to work for a few months, and then the problem comes back. in other words the cable thickness  shrinks over time or the latch that holds the cable looses grip. but as you see a little bit of tape solves this issue.

20 Posts

June 19th, 2009 22:00

one more thing people, do not forget to install the right driver for touchpad. some people were trying to slow down the cursor speed or touchpad sensibility well restore it back to default settings. keep in mind that this issue is not related to "bios problem" or "touchpad driver".

9 Posts

June 21st, 2009 16:00

I'm very tempted to try this although I'm very technically inept!! LOL. Also I'm thinking this may affect your wrranty!? If anyone else tries this and it solves the problem, please let us know.

Thanks PeruRican!