Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 14th, 2010 15:00

Studio 15 Hinge/Power button problem

Hello all,

About a year ago the hinge on the left side of my Studio 15 broke simply from opening and closing it, just after my warranty expired. I am a college student and couldn't pay to get it fixed. While I was waiting to save up the cash to fix it, the right hinge broke, and to my dismay, taking the power button with it, apparently (after getting it checked out by a local computer repair shop) ripping out the wire that connects the button to the computer. :emotion-6:

I've researched this and I've found this hinge problem is quite common; it even trends on google when you type "studio 15 hinge" one will get "studio 15 hinge", "studio 15 hinge problem" and "studio 15 hinge broken". Obviously this is not a common problem. Is Dell aware of this? Have they offered any solutions to those who are out of warrenty? Have any of you experienced this problem? What about the power button?

Any answers to my questions with be great. Thank you all in advance. :emotion-1:

- NR

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

July 14th, 2010 16:00

If you google for "broken notebook hinge", the entire first page and a half of hits is for HP/Compaq computers - the first Dell issue comes in on the second page - so it's not just a Dell problem, but a generic notebook problem.

The cost of the hinges and control strip should be well under $50 -- add an hour's labor for a shop if you don't replace them yourself.  As with any post-warranty repair, it's at your expense.

However, if you let it go and the display cracks or the mainboard is damaged, you're looking at a few hundred dollars in repairs, so don't let the problem go any longer.

6 Posts

July 14th, 2010 20:00

Thank you for the response.