Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 10th, 2009 12:00

How do I create save pool or save devs to be used with symsnap

Hi,

I am new to symsnap. How do I create save devs from existing hypers / meta and create a svp?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

2.1K Posts

March 10th, 2009 13:00

The good news is that almost everything you need to know about this can be found in three documents available on Powerlink:

Solutions Enabler SymmCLI TimeFinder Product Guide
Solutions Enabler SymmCLI Command Reference
Solutions Enabler SymmCLI Array Controls Product Guide

I highly suggest you start with the TimeFinder Product Guide for a good understanding of what you want to do. The last two are invaluable for general understanding of array functions and controls through Solutions Enabler.

Now for the bad news. You can't make SAV devs directly from your STDs or Metas (someone correct me if this has changed). You will need to destroy the devices and build new devices that are defined as SAV devs right from the start.

If you are not comfortable doing this with Solutions Enabler, SMC, or ControlCenter, you should probably talk to your Account Team and get you TC engaged. EMC can do this for you with a BIN file as well.

2.8K Posts

March 11th, 2009 03:00

Now for the bad news. You can't make SAV devs
directly from your STDs or Metas (someone correct me
if this has changed). You will need to destroy the
devices and build new devices that are defined as SAV
devs right from the start.

Not that bad, you'd agree ;-)
Just a little more jigsaw work (thus more fun) :-)

However you are still right AFAIK .. I had to "convert" unused savedevices into "host usable" devices and I had to delete SAVE devices and create brand new symdevs in two different steps. :-)

2.1K Posts

March 11th, 2009 06:00