Start a Conversation

Unsolved

S

10 Posts

March 25th, 2020 20:00

Inspiron One 2330, Windows 10, camera comes and goes

Hello,

First time posting here and not a sophisticated tech person (please bear with me).  I am a university professor and psychotherapist, and with the current shelter in place in California, I need my computer to teach my students and see clients remotely, so this is kind of urgent for me.

My all-in-one computer's built-in camera works and then stops working without any apparent reason.  I used it w/o a problem the whole weekend with Zoom, but today it started disconnecting.  The same thing when I tried to upload a video on Youtube, it told me that Youtube could not access my camera since "it was being used by another application" but nothing was active at the time!  In the past, I used to have the same problem using Skype, and never figured out why.  I assumed that it was a problem with Skype's software and I was hoping not to have the same problem with Zoom, but today in the middle of a session it went out w/o any notice. I ended the session and started again and it did it again, so I had to finish the session only with audio.

Following the suggestions I found here elsewhere, I updated, disabled and even uninstalled the drivers (Win 10 reinstall it after a reboot, fortunately) but still keeps doing the same.  I've tried to use Dell's SupportAssist, but it does not run the hardware scan.  I don't know what else to try and I really need to solve this one quick!  

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Sergio

10 Elder

• 

43.6K Posts

March 26th, 2020 14:00

Welcome to the forum...

What browser are you using for Zoom? And were you using the same browser when you had issues with Youtube? Zoom recommends Chrome, and I guess Youtube does too.

If you have to abruptly end a Zoom session because of a tech problem, I've found it's helpful to clear the browser's cache, cookies and history before logging in again.