Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

2 Posts

December 1st, 2020 05:00

Upgrade DELL Inspiron 3470 3471 Intel Core i5 Desktop

Afternoon! I’m wondering if anyone could give me some advice... I have a Dell Inspiron 3470, Intel Core i5 (8GB RAM), however I’m wanting to upgrade what I have and add a decent graphics card (nothing high end or state of the art) instead I currently have the bog standard integrated graphics card. My case is obviously too small to fit a graphics card inside of it (I’d rather not settle for a low profile one). What I’m wondering is this - Would it be possible to switch the components over from the current Dell inspiron case which is quite a small case to a larger case so that I can make room for graphics card? 

Also, which graphics card would be recommended? I’m willing to spend £200-£300 on one.

I’m slowly getting my head around computers through an apprenticeship... but it’s safe to say I’m far from an expert! 

Any advice would be appreciated to keep me right

7 Technologist

• 

10.4K Posts

December 1st, 2020 08:00

3470 motherboard is highly proprietary: it does not follow standard ATX form factor, it has a 6 pin ATX power header instead of 24 pin.

It might be easier if you just use the pc with lid open and install a full height card.  If the card is double slot width you would need to move psu outside case.  not elegant for sure.

The only components you may move to new case would be cpu and memory and ssd.  It will be too much work or impossible to fit the proprietary board in standard case.

December 1st, 2020 09:00

Thanks for the reply!

I’m guessing it might be better to start from scratch then if I’m wishing to put together a medium range budget gaming PC? Being able to salvage my HDD, RAM and CPU would be fine as long as I get a compatible motherboard, graphics card and PSU?

10 Elder

• 

43.6K Posts

December 1st, 2020 11:00