Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

6 Posts

June 30th, 2020 07:00

Dell Inspiron 7370 Temperature Shooting Up

Hello. I have been using the Dell Inspiron 7370 for a couple of years now and I have always been experiencing overheating problems. I was able to handle it normally but situations became worse. Just today I was having issues with Microsoft Office so I decided to reinstall it. Just within 5 minutes of downloading, with no other apps opened, the fans started to ramp up until its max and I checked the temperature, which appeared to be at 90 degrees average. I force-closed the download, reconfirmed it in the task manager and shut down the laptop for a little while. After several minutes I turned it on, browsed the web and within 10 minutes the fans ramped up again, and temperatures shot up to 90 degrees once again. I closed all opened software, confirmed it by checking task manager, and left it idled. For 5 minutes straight the temperature maintained at 90 degrees and the fans didn't seem to slow down, although it was confirmed that ALL apps were closed. I shut down, waited another 5 minutes, and the same thing happened again. Did the same thing for a couple of times until I decided to not use it. Can anyone provide me with a solution? On a side note, the TurboBoost is turned off, the bios and everything is up to date, and have tried every solution I see on the internet, such as adjusting the power settings in Control Panel and keeping the vents dust-free. Looking forward to a response. Your reply is highly appreciated.

1.5K Posts

June 30th, 2020 16:00

Clean out your cooling system it's probably full of dust, blocking air circulation 

To get this information you need to log on to  Dell Support, enter your model number, and most importantly Enter your Service Tag Number.