Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 17th, 2019 08:00

Dell g3 3579 randomy freezes.

Recently I've bought a dell notebook g3 3579 (i7 8750h, 1050 Ti) and after I installed all oficial drivers I noticed that my notebook started to randomly freeze when I watch videos on YouTube. I'm a musician and use it for a composing purposes, so I really don't want freezes to happen.

I really like the notebook but it is really strange that it requires SO MUCH of my time and effort to define the right Bios\drivers configuration. 

So I started investigation and It seems that I fixed the problem by the most part. Here are my results before and after the fix:

Before: https://www.dropbox.com/s/b8xj6bg13tp3fwg/LatencyMonRes.jpg?dl=0

After: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8zu5i5iup8zpag3/LatencyMonRes_2.jpg?dl=0

1. First of all, I I turned off the automatic driver update feature in Windows.

2. Deleted all the drivers, then installed the ofiicial Intel-UHD-Graphics-630-Driver (after tests in LatencyMon I determined that this driver does not cause any freezes).

3. I switched off C states and the Speed Shift Technology. One of those causes freezes. Turning off\on hyperthreading doesn't help as I can tell.

4. Deleted all chipset\wi-fi\sound drivers. You can download good audio drivers from the official Realtek download page.  

5. You can install GeForce Experience and download new videocard drivers from there.

From now on I'll install all the drivers one by one and test them. I'll post interesting results here.

My observations:

1. Dell SupportAssistant causes freezes. Uninstall it. 

2. Intel Rapid Storage thing causes freezes too.

3. Intel video driver which you can download from the official Intel website causes freezes too. Dxgkrnl starts to lag.

4. From my POV, the best Wi-Fi driver is Windows standart driver.

To be continued.

2 Intern

• 

20.1K Posts

May 17th, 2019 11:00