Start a Conversation

Unsolved

N

17 Posts

July 10th, 2018 09:00

Inspiron 5570, runs hot, plastic film blocking air intake

Dear Dell Support Team, I recently purchased a dell inspiron 5570 core i5 8250u with radeon 530. I noticed it gets hot and the fan are very noisy when playing games. i'm on latest bios 1.1.6.

Being an IT technician I decided to upgrade the RAM modules today and while working inside the laptop I noticed that on the inside of the air intake vent located on the bottom of the laptop has a transparent plastic film sticked on top of the dust filter thus completely blocking the air intake at the bottom of the laptop.

So my question, Is that transparent plastic film normally supposed to be glued on top of the dust filter?

Should I remove the plastic film? Was it unintentionally left on the assembly line? Will removing it improve airflow inside the laptop?

Thanks Nirmal

17 Posts

Hi Jesse L, that's what I thought removing it will allow proper airflow to the fan. Note that the plastic film is on the inside of the laptop. I mean the other side of the air vent so i will need to remove the bottom cover to remove it from the dust filter. I hope that my laptop is an isolated case if not other inspiron 5570 may be experiencing overheating issues. Sincerely Nirmal.

• 

16.7K Posts

Nirmalr7,

Yes, remove the plastic film from the vent. The system cannot get airflow with the vent blocked. It will cause overheating if left on.

17 Posts

July 10th, 2018 10:00

Hi Jesse L ...here's what I just did with my dell laptop.. I removed the plastic film inside the laptop. I will be testing it for several hours I hope it helps cool down the laptop during heavy usage. Please pass this message to the engineering team.

Rgds Nirmal.1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

17 Posts

July 12th, 2018 06:00