2blakcat
1 Copper

Installing SSD hard drive in an Inspiron 1750

Hi....new member here and was wondering if anyone could offer some advice and/or have any experience with installing a new SSD into Inspiron 1750 laptop.

Basically I've had the laptop from new (around 8/9 years) and the hard drive has failed. It's currently with the PC World/Team Knowhow people looking to see if any of my data is recoverable (stupidly, I hadn't backed it up!!). Anyway, I'll be looking to replace the hard drive once it's returned and I'm considering going for an SSD hard drive.

Previously, I've only used 'normal' platter drives in my laptops/desktops, so I'm completely new to the world of SSD drives... especially the terminology.

So my questions are:

Is my laptop suitable for an SSD hard drive upgrade?

If so, and on the basis of the limited research I've done so far, there seems to be two form factors... 2.5" 7mm and M.2 2280... which one is compatible with my laptop?

Any help or advice on this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks… Michael

0 Kudos
5 Replies

Re: Installing SSD hard drive in an Inspiron 1750

2blakcat,

The Inspiron 1750 system uses Serial-ATA-I (SATA I) and SATA II hard drives.

The Inspiron 1750 is offered with a configuration of 5400 rpm and 7200 rpm drives. The hard drive capacities are as follows:

Hard drives
Size (GB) Speed (rpm)
160 5400
250 5400
320 5400
500 5400
160 7200
250 7200
320 7200
500 7200

Customer Experience Tip contains important information to assist you in providing our customers with the best experience. CE TIP:
All the drives listed above are available at SATA I (1.5 Gbps) and SATA II (3 Gbps) speeds.

Social Media Support
#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, send us via a private message: Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number
Out of Warranty Support
Where do I find my Dell PC Service Tag or Express service code?
Where do I post SA (SupportAssist) issue/questions?
0 Kudos
ejn63
4 Ruthenium