Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 24th, 2014 18:00

How is the InsightIQ Filesystem Usage Analytic Report data collected

Hi, I am a Solution Architect working in NJ/NY divison. We are working with a EMC customer who recently have Isilon Installed. Previously we have developed a tool for the other NAS platforms (VNX, NetApp Filer, and  OnStor) to privide the user insights into file level information, such as the file type, last modified time, last access time, owner, ACL, etc.  and we can generate reports at the directory level based on the customer requirements. In order to get such information, we have developed some scanner to walk through the entire filesystem hiearchy from the NFS/CIFS clients. They would like us to extend this functionality to Isilon as well. But they pointed out that InsightIQ may provide similar information. So two questions from the customer: 1. Does InsightIQ also scan the filesystem as our tool from the NFS/CIFS clients? I do not think so but I just need to confirm. Coustomer does not want to scan the filesystems twice to impact the performance. 2. Is there a way to pull the information directly through InsightIQ? Is there a document that has all the detailed capacity information and file level information available in InsightIQ? Thanks a lot!

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

October 24th, 2014 20:00

Isilon has a job that scans the file system to deliver file system stats to InsightIQ, this job name is FSAnalyze. It provides info such as how many files/directories, sizes, not ACLs though. Did you have a chance to look at InsightIQ admin guide ?

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

October 26th, 2014 20:00

Hi Dynamox:

Do you have an URL in hand to the InsightIQ admin guide?  I search around, but only find a user guide.

Appreciate for your response.

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

October 26th, 2014 20:00

that's probably what i was thinking of.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts