Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

B

September 30th, 2016 15:00

How to disable SMB1 on Isilon OneFS?

Need help on disabling SMB1 for Isilon OneFS.

8.6K Posts

October 1st, 2016 12:00

I would suggest to move your post to the Isilon community

you have a much better chance for an answer there than here on the VNX forum

17 Posts

October 3rd, 2016 11:00

Thanks for the suggestion, Rainer_EMC.  I am new to the communities, and obviously trying to get some help.  What's the best way to move my post?  Not much in progress in my post at this time.  Should I just create the same post at the Isilon community?

8.6K Posts

October 3rd, 2016 13:00

check if you see a "move" on the actions on the right side

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

October 4th, 2016 06:00

Hey there bang11,

I don't think there's anyway you can disable SMB1 from the Isilon side. Depending on which OneFS you're currently running Isilon "can" negotiate through SMB1, SMB2, SMB2.1, even SMB3 (to some extent) during handshake. However, which underlying version of SMB the cluster and the client "will" finally negotiate upon depends on the protocols your Windows client support/prefers. If you're using SmartConnect zone name/FQDN/shortname to connect to the Isilon and have an Active Directory as global  authentication provider, it's more than likely that the clients are negotiating over SMB2/SMB2.1.

SMB1 over NT Lan Manager (NTLM) is always our last resource if we end up accessing shares with IP addresses. So it's never disabled.

Hope that helps.

Warm regards.

17 Posts

October 4th, 2016 09:00

Hi dipan,