Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 15th, 2009 05:00

1-TB RAID 0 on XPS M2010

Hi, all!

Noob here on the Dell forums.

I want to ask if anyone out there has tried installing two 500-GB hard drives on an XPS M2010 and linked them in RAID 0 for a total of 1 terabyte storage.  I plan to do this on my M2010, but I want to know first if this is at all possible for this model of laptop before I buy the components (actually, except for the hard drives themselves, I already have all components -- cables, caddy and all).  Are there any limits set by the BIOS or hard drive controllers or anything else on the laptop that might prohibit this?

Thanks!

22 Posts

December 12th, 2009 02:00

crc2 Good Morning from Robin Hood territory - cloudy Nottinghamshire.

32bit v. 64bit on XPS M2010 - Have gone - Start\ Control Panel \ Performance & Tools\ View & print (Win 7 platform). The resulting report daoes state that my X86 is 64 bit compliant.

PS I also have the Crucial 4 gb ram (isn't the Crucial 'examine the ram of your pc' software v. helpful in buying the correct type of ram?).

22 Posts

December 12th, 2009 03:00

***   ACPI\Del8010 PROBLEM SOLVED (possibly) -  or at least explained   ***

In Dell Downloads XPS M2010 Vista 32 bit operating system R142181 Bluetooth driver is available.

In Dell Downloads  XPS M2010 Vista 64 bit operating system no Bluetooth driver is available.

If R142181 is downloaded onto your pc and unzipped it becomes c:\Dell\Drivers\R142181

If you examine c:\Dell\Drivers\R142181 it contains folder \BT350A00 within which are 2 sub folders \32bit and \64bit

If you are installing in Window 7 32 bit and run R142181, it will automatically install from the c:\Dell\Drivers\R142181\BT350A00\32bit folder - THIS FOLDER CONTAINS THE INSTALL OF DellFn.sys which IS the driver needed to run ACPIDel8010 into becoming a system device of ACPI Function Key Handler.