Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 8th, 2011 20:00

After reinstall of Windows XP on Inspiron 1420 audio driver fails to install leaves Sound card showing as PCI device with ?

Hi all,

I have been using XP on my Inspiron 1420 since i got it almost 3 years back. In the last week there was a issue that required me to reinstall my XP. I Installed a fresh version running SP3.

After the re-installation I have installed the Intel Chipset drivers (R153997), other system drivers (Network, Video, Mouse etc) - all downloaded from the support website. There were a few Base system devices and a PCI device which were stil not installed,

The SigmaTel STAC 92XX C-Major HD Audio driver (R171789) install did not complete with the error "This system does not support the driver you are attempting to install".

So I checked the driver download page again and installed the RICOH drivers (R141246) .

All devices were installed except the PCI device with a ? mark associated with it. As there was no sound in my system I assume it the sound card.

I ran the diagnostic from a usb, there was sound coming from the one speaker (known problem with my laptop) as well as both headphone jacks.

I have followed the Audio Driver facts page to no avail. en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3517/p/19352371/19772824.aspx#19772824

I have even tried to uninstall the device and have in install on its own.

I even tried to install the UAA hotfix as suggested (even though the XP is already SP3).

I have gone through a lot of forum topics and tried installing a number of installer for the device but none work.

Please let me know if there is any other way to fix this issue. My only other option seems to be either to reinstall XP again or Upgrade to Win 7. I donot want to do this as I have already spent the last week resurrecting my system (which was difficult as my CD drive doesnot read any media).