Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

N

1 Message

November 18th, 2008 09:00

Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus

I recenlty received a Latitude E6400. It came with Vista which our company hasn't rolled out yet. So I wiped it out and loaded XPsp2. After installing all Dell drivers (website & cd's) I still have a conflict that says "Audio device on high definition audio bus". The sound works fine. All hardware appears to be functioning normally, but as a tech I cannot stand to see the exclamation point in device manager. I even flashed the bios and installed XP service pack 3. I finally got frustrated and blew away the load to try again. Guess what...same results. I have been going through this for 2 days now...and suggestions?

June 24th, 2009 06:00

Hi all,

I have the same symptome. Only, I have no sound whatsoever. I have a Dimension 5150 desktop, and tried about all the standard stuff now: I've tried the µsoft link in this thread, didn't work. Searched for standard drivers on dell.com, couldn't find any. Update driver automatic, failed. Reinstall driver, failed. Search on recomended places on the HD, couln't find any. ...

Since Dell forces people to use IE for support (and I refuse to do so), I'll try it this way. Anybody any idea ? All help highly appreciated.

THX !

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

June 24th, 2009 08:00

Strandjeanette, try posting your question on the Desktop Audio Board for a better chance at getting an answer specific to your Dimension desktop computer.
(This is the Laptop Audio Board.)

2 Posts

June 24th, 2009 08:00

yes try internet explorer, make sure u type in the correct service tag for correct versions of the drivers u need and make sure u select correect OS on the driver page, sometimes if u install it it doesnt work right, manually point the new hard ware to the correct folder, and that should do it. if not i found out that same chipset laptops have similar drivers. good luck!!