abublitz05
1 Copper

Black Screen - BSOD - TDR Error

Recently I started playing an MMO called Archeage and with it has come this troubling problem with the TDR Error BSODs. If anyone is familiar with this game, I played the Russia version and the closed Beta without this issue, the problems only started after the live launch update. Also their tech support sucks lol so I am posting here hoping that maybe someone can help me out :/

At first it only happened while playing this game, but now I am able to reproduce it while playing other games I never had an issue with before.

I am not seeing any video lag or flickering before this happens - all of a sudden my screen with go black, the sound cuts out, the lighting on the keyboard is still on, then after about 15-30 seconds the computer resets itself. After loading back up I get an "windows has shut down unexpectedly error". Using a program called WhoCrashed points to a Video TDR Error and nvlddmkm.sys being the issue. (Mini dump farther down the post)

I've searched the internet many many times for a solution to this and I had honestly thought I had found one awhile ago, my computer had ran fine for weeks... until the other day the problem started again.

Things I've done to remedy this via various internet posts:

Reinstalled Windows - Not sure one would call what i did an "clean" install as I partitioned the hard drive to back up some data as I did not have access to an external hard drive at the time.

Use drivesweeper to completely remove my video drivers and reinstall them. I've tried several different video drivers, the last one I tried which you will see in the mini dump posted below is the one most people have seemed to call the "most stable" vid driver. So before someone goes "zomg update your vid drivers!" I have.. I've installed the latest and had no success. I've also manually installed the driver and excluded installing the 3D/Sound portions.

Adjust the TDR registry settings to allow for a longer delay.