Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 1st, 2011 17:00

C drive full...

I'm really a noob when it comes to this stuff, but I've been doing a lot of research trying to figure out what to do about this problem, anyways bear with me here...

I bought a Dell Inspiron 1750 used about 2 months ago, and shortly after I started using it, I started getting low disk space warnings. As it turns out, whoever formatted the HD and wiped it clean and sold it to me only gave the C drive 14.5gb of space, and my Windows 7 Home Premium takes up 13.8gb. So it makes sense to reformat again and change the partition so that I have 30+gb on C, right?? Well, the computer didn't come with any Windows 7 installation disks, AND it seems that I can't use the "Dell Factory Image Restore" option that I read about elsewhere, I don't see that option when I hit F8 during startup like people said I should. So, what are my options here? I only have about 20mb left and I have NOTHING on the C drive except for Windows7, and I've been running a disk cleanup about twice a day to fend off problems. Are there any legitimate ways to add space to the C partition without having to reinstall Windows 7? Thanks in advance.

3.6K Posts

March 2nd, 2011 08:00

It sounds like the previous owner used the other 464GB on the (E:) drive instead of the other way around.The E drive should have 14 GB and the OS gets installed on the C drive.As previously stated,back up the files you want to keep (pictures,music,etc..) then do a clean install of the OS assuming you can get the OS disk to do it.You can also get a full windows 7 retail disk (i got a windows 7 Ultimate full retail unopened for $48.00 a week ago) from ebay for $45.00-$75.00.

56 Posts

March 1st, 2011 20:00

seems like the 1750 should have come with a much larger hard drive. How many partitions does it have?  (press Windows key + e). Under computer how many local driver are there?  C ... D ... E...