DancinHomer
1 Copper

Cannot install printer due to CPU speed not meeting minimum requirements after reinstall of Windows - see post for more detail >

I am a computer technician and had a Dell Inspiron 6000 in my shop to be formatted and Windows XP reinstalled, my customer could not find the original Dell OS CDs so I used our copy of Microsoft's WinXP OEM CD - that job was straight forward with no issues.

The problem I'm having is when I tried to install their Lexmark 6570 printer, I get a message saying your PC does not meet the minimum CPU speed required of 800MHz - The laptop's spec says it has a clock speed of 1.6GHz, double the requirements!! And the printer was working fine before formatting the laptop.

When going into WinXP System Properties it shows the following:

I assume that the 1.60GHz is the max. clock speed and 598MHz is the min. clock speed, but the Lexmark printer seems to pick up on the 598MHz as the actual clock speed even though it is connected to the mains power.

Any ideas would be much appreciated as I've given up searching Lexmark, Microsoft, Dell & support sites for a solution.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
TheRealFireblad
5 Rhenium

Re: Cannot install printer due to CPU speed not meeting minimum requirements after reinstall of Windows - see post for more detail >

Welcome to the forums

It's a very bad sign, when a computer technician by trade, is having problems with a Dell system

Hopefully one of the official Dell rep's will read the thread, and respond with suggestions?

In the meantime... whilst I see you've installed SP3... have you also installed all available updates through Windows Update?

One of them might include a 'fix' for this problem, because it's strange that the printer worked fine before you reformatted/reinstalled XP?

Other than that... although you shouldn't have to of course... have you tried installing the printer after booting into Safe Mode - to see if it makes any difference?