Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 7th, 2011 12:00

Connection Issues

I have a Dell D620 laptop and I need to know how to connect it to a Mackie 1402vlz3 mixer.  I am trying to go digital with Karaoke and I have most of the software and hardware.  Just need some help with connection issues.  Which cables and from what USB ports? I am a newbie and need step by step instructions.  Thanks!

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

July 7th, 2011 14:00

Which cables and from what USB ports?

Hello. I just took a look at the 1402-VLZ3 connection diagram (click on link to see it) and it does not appear to have any usb ports, so you cannot connect it to your laptop that way.

I don't see any digital ports at all on the mixer, so you would have to use analog connections. On the laptop those would be:

> Headphone jack -- this doubles as the line-out jack. By using this jack you can send 2 channels of audio out to the mixer. Using various cables (I don't have time right now to find pictures of them) you would connect to 2 of the inputs that are by the keyboard on the hookup diagram -- the line level inputs.

> Microphone jack -- this doubles as the line-in jack. By using this jack you can send 2 channels of audio from the mixer into the laptop. There are probably several output jacks on the mixer you can use, but probably the "tape out" would be a good choice.

Hope this helps. If you need more please describe what exactly you want to do with the mixer and what with the laptop.

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

July 7th, 2011 17:00

The USB ports are all the same - contact the hardware manufacturer for the cables you'll need (the system uses plain old A connector USB cables).

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

July 7th, 2011 18:00

contact the hardware manufacturer for the cables you'll need

The mixer that the OP specified is an analog mixer that does not have usb ports.

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

July 7th, 2011 19:00