Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 27th, 2016 20:00

Dell Inspiron 15-5547 i7- Audio gets louder

So this is a very difficult issue to explain, but I have had multiple replacements for this laptop and this has been happening on all of them.

If I am listening to audio (ANY audio- Be it YouTube, Groove Music, Windows Media Player, VLC, some video on Facebook, etc.), and I pause it or I just started playing it (In other words, when I press Play), the sound is very loud.  I then press the Volume Down key, which immediately puts it back to the lower volume it was at before (The volume percentage was not any higher when it got louder).

I have no idea what causes this.  Actually, I had this problem on my original also and it stopped.  I believe I fixed that one by uninstalling MAXX Audio, but I'm not sure how to do that.  Would that make sense as a solution, and how do I uninstall it?  Only Realtex High Definition Audio Driver appears in Programs and Features.

I am on Windows 10, but it happened on Windows 8 and 8.1 as well.  This model has given me so many issues, it's amazing Dell didn't do a recall.

Thanks!

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

April 27th, 2016 22:00

Hi Rocketman16,

I would suggest you to update the BIOS and audio driver on the system for issue resolution. Please enter your service tag # on the link below, select the OS, then download the BIOS from BIOS section and audio driver from audio section onto the system and install it.

http://dell.to/18r60nI

Please let me know if this helps.

28 Posts

May 2nd, 2016 15:00

Thank you for your response.

I have tried this on all 3 laptops (The original was Reset and now has the issue again).

I am almost positive this is caused by the MAXX Audio Software.

However, I can't uninstall it.  It doesn't show up in Programs and Features.

Please help me uninstall it, so that I can see if that resolves the issue.

Thanks!

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts