Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

L

December 1st, 2014 15:00

Dell Inspiron 15 7537 won't turn on

I am a bit of a tech head, and urged my wife to wait until the "good" touch screen haswell laptops came out.  I even wrote some glowing reviews of Dell's inspiron 15 7537 after I received it ([View:www.amazon.com/.../ref=cm_cr_pr_viewpnt])

Unfortunately, just a few weeks out of warranty, the trusty laptop has stopped powering up.  

The symptoms: laptop will not power up.  Things I have tried:

• Making sure the power cable was plugged in (LED is on the power ring on the plug itself)
  • Making sure the PC recognizes the power cable and the power adapter isn't loose (power ring brightens when plugged in)
  • Trying different outlets, including several direct to wall outlets
  • Removing battery and trying to power up with just power cable
  • Removing battery and AC adapter, holding power for 3+ minutes to "clear static charge" as recommended by some self-help websites
  • Doing above and then plugging power cable in
  • One ram chip at a time
  • No ram

Unfortunately nothing works.  Fans don't turn on, lights don't turn on, display doesn't turn on, no noises or beeps.  Other than the power ring on the plug getting brighter when I plug it in, there is no indication that the device is receiving any power.  

I'm pretty bummed and hope there is a solution and/or that Dell can help make things right.  The build quality of the device is so high and my wife has been very satisfied and I hope that she can get more than a year of use out of the device.

Many thanks,

Luke from London

1 Message

December 30th, 2014 18:00