Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 1st, 2017 04:00

Dell Inspiron 17R SE Battery Issue? Turns off when only using battery

Hey there,

I've been using my upgraded Inpiron 17R SE happily for a couple of years by now. I've even gone as far as buying an 128GB SSD to futureproof it. This is the only drive - besides the DVD drive - currently present in the laptop. However I've had an issue for quite a while:

Whenever I try to boot the Laptop only using the Battery (even fully charged) it Posts then loads Windows and turns of just before the Login-Screen (I can't see it). When I proceed to turn it back on, it Posts then beeps and says that there is a Real Time Clock Error and gives me the option to proceed booting or to enter Setup.

This however doesn't occur when using the Power-Brick. Moreover it isn't always the case. Sometimes the Laptop boots and works fine just using the battery, but then upon opening a Programm (while under battery-power) it shuts of and gives the same error message again. If it decides to work the battery still lasts for 2-2.5 hours.

I'm really confused to what the problem is. It could be a power delivery problem, but it's still the original battery and laptop with only the HDD changed to a SSD.

I'm aware of it being a rather old machine, but selling it is my only hope for getting a new laptop for college, but I can't sell it in this state. 

I'm at a lost and really really sad because of this issue. I'm sorry for any typos or grammar mistakes, I'm a non native english speaker.

Community Manager

• 

2.2K Posts

June 2nd, 2017 23:00