2 Iron

Dell Inspiron 7000 7579 Headphone Left Right Bleed/separation

I have a new Dell Inspiron 7000 (7579), purchased Feb 2017. Actually two of them. Same results on both laptops.

When I use headphones, signals from both the right track and left track come out of both sides of the headphones. I have gone through every setting that I can find. Settings are set to stereo, and there are no enhancements on.

The tracks play out of the speakers as split tracks. The tracks play out of the HDMI port properly, as well as USB playback devices.

I have tried multiple sets of headphones. Identical tracks and headphones work properly on other older laptops and other equipment. (I am an audio engineer for a living).

Any help is appreciated.

43 Replies
7 Gold

RE: Dell Inspiron 7000 7579 Headphone Left Right Bleed/separation

Hello. On some of the newest models, the headphone plug has to be pushed extra firmly into the jack -- as though the jack dimension is a little off.

Other than that, I would re-install the audio driver and if the problem were to persist, would contact tech support.

Jim Coates -- 16 years on the Dell Laptop Audio boards -- since 2/6/04 

0 Kudos
2 Iron

Thank you for the suggestions. I have confirmed the plug is firmly seated.

what is the suggested method of re-installing the driver? I think it's a Realtek driver.

0 Kudos
7 Gold

In Device Manager, expand the Sound...Controllers category. Right click on Realtek High Definition Audio, select uninstall. Do not check the box to remove the driver software. Restart. Windows will rebuild the driver -- it will be the same driver, using the same driver files, the only difference is that it will have default settings. The thing this does is to correct for misconfiguration of the settings, which is not something I assumed happened, but is just a normal step to take.