Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 28th, 2010 15:00

Dell Latitude

I am looking for help with repairing a dell latitude CPi model number PPL...I need to figure out if it has a network card and if not where i can get one for this laptop?? please help me i really need it running..If you need more info please feel free to ask..Im not very good at this stuff,please help!

10 Posts

September 28th, 2010 15:00

According to the specs listed on Dell's website

<ADMIN NOTE: Broken link has been removed from this post by Dell>

, there is no network adapter of any sort built into that model line of Latitude notebooks.

What it does have is a CardBus/PCMCIA adapter slot you can plug an old external network card in to. What you're looking for is either a "CardBus" or "PCMCIA" Type 1 or Type 2 Ethernet adapter, if you're looking for a wired network plug. It's a fairly old design, you might not find too many new ones on the market.

Good luck.

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

September 28th, 2010 16:00

I am looking for help with repairing a dell latitude CPi model number PPL...I need to figure out if it has a network card and if not where i can get one for this laptop?? please help me i really need it running..If you need more info please feel free to ask..Im not very good at this stuff,please help!

That is a fairly ancient model.

If you are at least running Windows 2000 on it, you should be able to buy a PCMCIA card for it, either wired or wireless. I prefer to buy on eBay because you can get it at a very reasonable price.

For example, this for wireless --> http://cgi.ebay.com/Dlink-DWL-G630-PCMCIA-Wireless-Network-Adapter-/290479983536?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43a1f4cbb0

For example, this for wired -->  http://cgi.ebay.com/Dynex-DX-E201-PCMCIA-Network-Adapter-/390139876087?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5ad62612f7

September 28th, 2010 17:00