Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 9th, 2010 02:00

Dell Studio 1558 black screen crashes

Hi everyone

well this is my first time posting so my apology if I forget to include something or wrong forum.

Studio 1558 [i7 1.60 Ghz 4 GB ram ATI 5470 Windows 7 64 bits]

Recently I got some GPU crashes. I reinstall the driver by uninstall graphic device and have windows reinstall the driver. Since then I haven't gotten the error. However, new problem popped up. I would be surfing and I would get a black screen crash. I checked windows reliability monitor but all I got was improper shut down. It hasn't happened while I play games only when I surf. I don't know if it was just by chance or is there something wrong that relate only to browsing. I also ran dell troubleshooting tool, anti-virus/spyware, registry scan, and disk check. Everything is fine. So now I lost. I have seen one post regarding this similar but not exact problem http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19341641.aspx .

I wonder if these is a fix or is this model defective?

Thank you for your responses in advance

3 Posts

August 10th, 2010 00:00

I just another graphic card error. I don't know what to do now. Is this a GPU people?

Anyone please help!

1 Message

August 12th, 2010 23:00

Hey Catfishman,

I'm having the same problem, and my computer's only a week old. I have the issue with streaming video from Hulu, which is a Flash based video service. I have a black screen of death, followed by an unresponsive computer, but the computer is still on. I've called technical support the past three days, they've performed remote computing to try and fix my computer, but it still continues to crash. I don't know how to fix the problem, but I've encountered some people on the internet thinking that it might be an audio codec (IDT codec?) conflict.

I'm probably going to return my computer because I only bought it two weeks ago.

1 Message