Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 19th, 2009 08:00

Dell Studio XPS 13 Ethernet Controller not working after sleep wake-up

I'm a student, I constantly go on the campus wireless while in class, if I put the computer in sleep mode and then come back home and plug in the ethernet cable and wake the computer up, I can't get on the network, the lights on the ethernet port do not flash. This happens even if I wake up the computer before plugging in the ethernet cable.

Network and Sharing Center in Windows do not offer any solutions other than to plug in the cable, it does not offer to reset the hardware.

DevCon.exe is not able to reset the hardware, when running the command on the hardware ID of the nVidia network adapter, the following is output

"

devcon restart *DEV_0AB0*
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0AB0&SUBSYS_02711028&REV_B1\3&2411E6FE&0&50: Restart failed
No devices restarted.

"

This laptop is running with Vista Home Premium 64-bit the latest updates and drivers.

Please fix this or offer a solution as it is extremely annoying having to either shutdown or reboot all the time instead of using sleep mode.

11 Posts

October 25th, 2009 08:00