Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 4th, 2013 03:00

Dell vostro 3750 PCH diode and CPU overheat fan go crazy

Hi , before i write this post i did all this: repaste CPU GPU and PCH Heatstick , clean from dust , BIOS update reinstall Windows, nothing change here what stats i got

this is when my laptop is idle when i use autocad i get this

and some times it get

17 Posts

November 4th, 2013 09:00

PCH is supposed to run 10-20 degrees hotter than everything else, those pictures are normal-looking to me. Not that I am an expert. Better wait for someone else's input.
While we do that; Could you tell us more about your fan's behavior?

Mine is overreacting too, albeit differently. I am subscribing to this thread ([✓] [✓] ☑ Email me replies to this post), hopefully I can pick up a few tips on how to control it.

Instead of spinning constantly at the same speed like I would want it to, the fan reacts with little 100% spinup surges to heat, then it gradually returns to what feels like a 0% or very silent setting but only until the next surge.
I sometimes make youtube videos and the fan speed changes come across as loud and obnoxious static that mess up the audio quality to the point that I don't even bother recording it. Microphone stays muted.
A background noise filter could mask out the fan, but only if it would kindly remain constant. So naturally, I would like to force it to stay at the 100% setting, but can't;
There is no way that I could find to control the fan speed. It appears to be read-only. None of my usual programs can change it. I tried SpeedFan, Nvidia's advanced (developer) control panel, etc.

4 Posts

November 4th, 2013 12:00

the problem is than the fan does not change speed even when CPU temp go under 50C i need to put the PC to sleep and w8 for 10 sec then the fan get in normal speed , im afraid of damaging hardware if temperature are too high, cuz i can feel the heat trough the keyboard 

17 Posts