Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

K

December 17th, 2014 08:00

Goodbye Dell - XPS 17

I'm writing this post out of my grief and disappointment.

It is a little over 3 years I have been using my XPS 17. Bought it for work to my office in my own company. Having quite some experience in gamedev (10+ years in industry) I have already worked on Dells with luck. No wonder my next choice was Dell as well. I'm a software developer - I need a good laptop. Some of my industry friends and even employees warned me, that Dell is not what it used to be - I ignored it. Bought l702x - now I regret it.

I had constant problems almost from the beginning:

First I had very bad quality LCD, very grainy, I felt cheated. Dell Support replaced it for slightly better one.

Next I had the common issue with falling off power cable. Again, Dell Support replaced it for the cable which still was too thick and too heavy and fallen only twice a day.

After that I have realised that some (if not most) of the internal modems doesn't work with this hardware. I had 2  of them at my office. One of them was Dell branded. Both didn't work. To this day I'm not using modem with this laptop - notice, that there is a SIM card slot inside - brilliant joke.

Speakers - people say it is so cool piece of hardware. Well - I don't get it! The only thing which makes this hardware sound so 'cool' is probably the piece of software delivered with it, which makes it 'sound better'. Without it, in comparsion to other brands it is really bland. Not to mention the speakers placement - right under your palm - great thinking - to hear something during work I need to use headphones or take my hands off the desk.

Later 2 cursor keys lost their plastic coating due to regular basis (though frequent) use.

At this point my battery started to fail - probably falling off cable caused it to malfunction.